Home » creative » Christmas : Part Two : Little toys and a Pillow cover pattern

Christmas : Part Two : Little toys and a Pillow cover pattern

Happy New Year!!!

Since 2/3 of my Christmas celebrations are over and these gifts have been given, I can now share them with the world. I will go in order from smallest to biggest, with a pattern to share at the end.

First, these tiny needle-felted sheep were sent with Lupo the Lamb to the generous givers of my lamb fleeces. I thought they would make cute Christmas ornaments. I meant to post them earlier, but time flies when you’re knitting against the clock:

tiny needle felted sheep ornaments

My kids think they look more like puppies… I guess I need more needle-felting practice. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Next, a tiny record player for my daughter… at her request:

tiny-mochi-mochi-record-player

I made it so the record can be placed on and off the turn-table, and I got the pattern from this fabulous book by Anna Hrachovec.

Next, a little knitted baby penguin for my nephew. He wanted a baby to go with this one I made for him, so I modified the original pattern by Amy Gaines a bit, and used smaller yarn and needles:

knitted-baby-penguin-hat-scarf

knitted-baby-penguin-scarf

knitted-baby-penguin

And finally, I knitted 2 pillow covers for my Sister-in-law and Mother-in-law. I used 4-skeins each of Cascade Baby Alpaca Chunky yarn, and 20″ down-alternative pillow inserts and they are super soft and squishy and cozy.

knitted-pillow-cover-pink-front

knitted-pillow-cover-pink-back

I think Mae wants one too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

knitted-cabled-pillow-cover-blue

I saw a similar pattern online, but I thought it looked pretty simple, and I wanted to use a chunky weight yarn for a faster knit, so I wrote my own. Here it is, if anyone is interested. They are a pretty quick knit, and you can take the covers off for washing:

Cabled knitted pillow cover pattern : 20โ€ x 20โ€

Materials:
4 skeins (108 yards each) Cascade Baby Alpaca Chunky (Hot Rod pink and Monterey Bayย blue)
Size 10 (US) knitting needles (straight or long-cabled circular)
1 cable needle (or double point) of similar size as your knitting needles
Size G (4.0mm) Crochet hook
20″ x 20″ pillow insert of your choice (I chose a down alternative filling for squishy coziness)

Gauge:
Mine matched that listed on the yarn (4 stitches = 1″) so you can swatch and use different needles if you want, but I think it shouldn’t matter too much as it will stretch to fit the pillow.

Back panel bottom:
CO 70 stitches
knit 10โ€ stockinette (about 46 rows) then knit 8 rows in 1×1 rib for the overlap.

Back panel top:
CO 70 stitches
knit 10โ€ stockinette (about 46 rows) then knit 12 rows in 1×1 rib for the overlap.

Front:
Basics (Since I like a big picture overview): You will have 3 cable columns of 8 stitches each, 4 purl stitches in between each, 15 stitches stockinette on each side, and you will cable by holding the 1st 4 stitches of each cable section to the front of your work, then knitting 4 stitches, then knitting the stitches held to the front every 12 rows, starting on 11th row. You will also slip the first stitch of every rowย for a smoother, easier to crochet edge.

Now the details of the cable pattern:

row 1: sl 1, k14, p4, k8, p4, k8, p4, k8, p4, k15
row 2: sl 1, p14, k4, p8, k4, p8, k4, p8, k4, p15
(5x)

row 11: sl 1, k14, p4, * slip 4 st on cable needle and hold to front, k4, knit 4 st from cable needle (3x from *), p4, k15

row 12: sl 1, p14, k4, p8, k4, p8, k4, p8, k4, p15
row 13: sl 1, k14, p4, k8, p4, k8, p4, k8, p4, k15
(5x)

row 22: sl 1, p14, k4, p8, k4, p8, k4, p8, k4, p15
row 23: sl 1, k14, p4, * slip 4 st on cable needle and hold to front, k4, knit 4 st from cable needle (3x from *), p4, k15

Repeatย row 12-23 5 more times, then row 12-13 5 times, then row 12 1 time, then bind off loosely.

Finished size should be about 20″ tall and wide.

Finish by pinning the back panels together with the ribbed stitched rows overlapping, then pin the back to the front so all the edges line up.

Single crochet (or sew if you prefer) around all of the edges and fasten off.

Stuff your pillow insert inside and let the cuddling begin!

Let me know if you find any errors in this pattern (I am definitely an amateur and this hasn’t been tested) and I will correct this post.

๐Ÿ™‚

Now I shall return to spinning, spinning, and more spinning for Christmas Part 3 at the end of the month!

 

19 thoughts on “Christmas : Part Two : Little toys and a Pillow cover pattern

  1. Those little sheep are so cute. I saw some miniature felted things on etsy just recently, maybe some day I’ll give it a try. The record player…now that’s unique!!! There is so much I want to do… Love your baby penguin. Your pillows are perfect. I have to tell you I have been spinning a bit. You’ve reminded me it’s time to bring my wheel inside and spin by the fire. I have to stop procrastinating on that one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you so much! Needle felting is fun, a lot like sculpting, but I enjoy it more wearing finger protectors. Me and sharp needles don’t play well together. I’m glad you are spinning again. Do you find it relaxing?

  2. What an amazing set of knits, and what wonderful gifts!!! I love every one of these things, and I’m so impressed and in awe of your creativity and talent!! These are such sweet, thoughtful and gorgeous gifts. And they all look so soft and squishy! You are inspiring me to get cracking now for next year! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hey, just to let you know I have nominated you for the Liebster Award! I love reading your blog ๐Ÿ™‚ I have the optional rules on my page here ๐Ÿ™‚ EmpressFibres

Leave a Reply

