Home » creative » crochet » Lupo the Lamb

Lupo the Lamb

My first ever “straight-from-the-lamb” project is done! I’m pretty happy with how it turned out:

lalylala lupo the lamb crochet doll handspun

Seems a little silly that I did all that wool processing only to turn it back into a lamb. 😉 I ran out of white yarn toward the end, and had to make some more… learning from that process that I overplied the first batch. The second was much softer and lighter. The brown wool seemed easier and more consistent to spin over all. Not quite as fine, but still very soft, and I adore the color variations, with bits of red and grey highlights. And since my hand-spinning is nowhere near as consistent in weight as commercial yarn, he’s not completely symmetrical, ie. the arms and feet are slightly different sizes. But I think that lends him a bit of extra hand-made charm (I think). I also stuffed him with the wool (each color matching) which helped with show-through issues, and he’s delightfully huggable as a result.

lalylala lupo the lamb crochet doll handspun

lalylala lupo the lamb crochet doll handspun

I’m definitely in love with Lalylala designs even more now. It took longer than other crochet animals I’ve made, with its smaller, tighter gauge, but that also gives it a smoother look, and there are little subtle touches that made the pattern very special, especially the shaping of the hands and feet.

He also turned out a little bigger than the pattern’s specified 10″. He’s around 14″, since my yarn was a little heavier than sock weight. I also used a bigger hook (2.5mm), and bigger eyes (9mm instead of 6mm).

The kids and I really want to keep him, but I’m going to send him back “home” as a thank you to the people who gave me the fleeces. I’ll probably have to make another one to live with us eventually. Lord knows I have enough wool left over. 🙂 But first I need to take a break from crochet. I’m dying to knit something, and also to see how this wool spins up woolen, and into something wearable. Stay tuned…

20 thoughts on “Lupo the Lamb

  1. Oh my goodness!! He’s done, and he is so sweet and adorable!! I can still recall how soft he was and can only imagine how wonderful it must be to snuggle up against all that cuteness. You are seriously making me wish I knew how to crochet. What a lovely and touching gift this lamb is going to be. I’m in awe!!

    • Thank you so much! I think he could have been even softer if I hadn’t over-plied the body, but I love that he’s completely made from those 2 fleeces… except for the safety eyes of course, but I like that their sheen makes them stand out from the dark face. I do like to crochet occasionally, it’s faster and I like the look of amigurumi, but I still prefer knitting. Somehow I always end up mis-counting stitches with crochet. Probably all those extra chains that don’t count as stitches… doesn’t seem as intuitive to me.

Leave a Reply

