Home » chickens » lucky feather

lucky feather

This is a new one for me. Anybody out there seen this before? Frances (our Barred Plymouth Rock) has sprouted ONE green feather right in the middle of her otherwise completely black and white striped back:

barred-plymouth-rock-one-green-feather1

Perhaps a recessive gene? Or maybe she just misses her blue-kote dyed purple ones? Either way, I’m calling it her lucky feather. Also, I have no idea what’s happening with Alberta’s comb. As a Gold Laced Wyandotte, I think eventually it’s supposed to get big and squishy (a rose comb) but right now it’s still pretty flat, except for this one piece sticking up. I don’t know if this is part of the development process, but it also looks a little like she caught it on something and detached the end farther back:

alberta-comb

BTW, My Sweet Prince (photographer extraordinaire) took these sweet pics of me doing the Mama Hen thing. With the weather being so cold, and the days being so short, I only get to do this about once a week now, but if I have the time to sit down on the weekends, they’ll still come and jump into my lap for a cuddle. Alberta always likes snuggle underneath my arms, or preferably underneath Frances. She knows where the warmest spot around is:

mama-hen

I totally get it:

chicken-hug

Poor Gloria needs a good cuddle too, but she won’t ask for it, unless I’m in the hammock, which unfortunately had to be put away for the winter. She’s starting to grow in her new feathers though, and looking pretty fierce:

gloria-molting

I’m so thankful for all of you who advised me to get her some friends. Even though it’s been a long, somewhat trying process, I would be feeling so guilty right now if she was all alone in the yard, with the temperatures dipping below freezing, looking like this.

13 thoughts on “lucky feather

  1. Wonderfully sweet photos! Valdez used to snuggle his chickens too. I love Frances’ beautiful single feather. How gorgeous. Reminds me of the green sheen of ducks.

Leave a Reply

