Home » spinning » fleece processing part 2 : the final spin cycle

fleece processing part 2 : the final spin cycle

Now that my beautiful clean lamb fleeces are nice and dry (only took a couple of days) I’m starting to comb and spin them into yarn. Here is my current high tech method: A cheap dog comb purchased at my local supermarket. I’ve been separating the locks, then holding one end while I comb out the other with the wider tines, then turning it around to comb the other end, then repeating with the smaller tines, until all the VM has been combed out and the locks are nice and fluffy and straight and tangle-free.

combing romney lamb locks

brown-romney-lamb-fleece-combing

And here are my first mini test skeins, spun worsted, somewhere between DK and Worsted weight (kind of my default spin):

romney-lamb-handspun-yarn

They are very light and lofty and soft and springy, even spun worsted. I love the color variation in the brown one from what I assume are sun-bleached ends:

brown-hand-spun-romney-lamb-yarn

The white one seems to be finer and a little softer:

white-romney-lamb-handspun-yarn

And here is the beginning of my first little project with these yarns. They are very enjoyable to crochet, even with a tight gauge. Of course I had to turn the lamb fleece back into a lamb:

crochet-lamb-foot

I’ve been looking for an excuse to make one of these adorable lalylala dolls:Β http://www.lalylala.com/?port=crochet-pattern-lupo-the-lambΒ and this seemed like the perfect opportunity to play with these two fleeces together.

LUPO_web-01a-590x590

 

 

18 thoughts on “fleece processing part 2 : the final spin cycle

  1. Oh, how darling!!! And so perfect for your new yarn. Love the brown. I’ve got some wool stored away waiting to be carded..you are inspiring me to get it out. Maybe this winter will finally turn into my dream of spinning by the fire… πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you! I’d love to see you’re carding / spinning results! But you’re doing such amazing things with your painting, I wouldn’t want you to be too distracted away from that. πŸ˜‰

  2. That is the perfect project for your yarn! Don’t you love it when you find just the right project? I am still waiting for inspiration to hit me for our first batch of roving off of our own sheep. Your work looks beautiful.

  3. your wool looks brilliant, I love that you’ve kept it natural colours. Can”t wait to see your crocheted lamb finished – it is incredibly cute ^^

  4. Wow, this is so wonderful!! It must be really satisfying to clean and prepare your own fiber. I am so impressed and in awe of your fantastic work. The spinning is fantastic and I can only imagine how the yarn must feel!! The lamb is also way too adorable.

    On another note, I really hope we can find time to connect in person sometime soon. Work has been hectic then I spend the weekends essentially recovering and preparing for the weekday. Maybe when things get calmer we can meet up, have hot cider or tea and spin?

    • Thank you so much! I’m finding the whole fleece processing very satisfying, indeed. And I would love to get together sometime! It’s been a crazy, busy time for us too… But hopefully soon!

  5. The dog comb is a very clever tool idea. And that wolf in sheep’s clothing project is SO adorable! It’s the perfect project for your handspun yarn! Thanks for another fun post, which I’ll be sharing on my KWH fb page πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Thank you!!! I love all the other lalylala dolls too. I also got the kangaroo pattern and the free bunny mod pattern. The cross stitch rose on it’s belly is too gorgeous! It’ll go in my daughter’s Easter basket if I can wait that long to make it.

Leave a Reply

