Home » chickens » Chicken Townhouses

Chicken Townhouses

It’s been over a week now since all of the girls have been free ranging together during the day, and I think it’s going as well as possible. We’ve moved Gloria’s coop right next to the new coop, to take advantage of a bit of roof cover, as well as hopefully promote more of a flock mentality. Gloria has had a weird laying week, I think mostly due to all-day access to food with less calcium (soft egg shells) and several missed days, but she seems to be getting back to normal now.

chicken-coop-townhouses

Alberta and Frances still seem a little edgy around Gloria, but I haven’t seen any violence, and they are letting her get much closer than before:

mae-feeding-chickens

In fact, they all are hanging out in the same area of the yard most of the time:

chickens-bushes

But Frances prefers to spend most of her time napping up high somewhere out of pecking reach, so of course Alberta usually joins her. Here is their current favorite roost:

napping-chickens-grey

I feel like a weight of responsibility has been lifted from me… no longer needing to babysit or referee. Perhaps I can actually get back to some serious knitting and spinning in my free time now… just in time for Autumn’s cooler evenings and Christmas crafting!

8 thoughts on “Chicken Townhouses

  1. My smaller girls nap on the roof of the coop to stay out of pecking range. It’s a simple and effective solution that clearly is part of their DNA.

    I’m glad to see the bullying isn’t bad and you can leave them to it. Well done.

    • Thank you! I’m very relieved that we’ve reached a peaceful state of normal. And it’s nice to hear that my little girls aren’t the only scaredy “chickens” out there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

