Home » kittens » About a Doll, a Baby, and a Naughty Kitty

About a Doll, a Baby, and a Naughty Kitty

Some of you may have noticed that I’ve been a bit lacking in my blogging mojo lately… but I HAVE been saving up some photos of some finished projects that I’ve had fun making during the last couple of months:

1. About a Doll.
For my niece’s Pixie Doll, I made a few accessories: a combination flannel/knitted nightgown, a crocheted ballet tutu, a flower crown (I made a big version for her as well) and a pet bunny.

knitted doll accessories

I probably should have shared this bunny pattern before Easter, because I think it’s way too cute…

knitted bunny

2. About a Baby.
I finally got the chance to make something for a baby again! I was excited to be invited to my Cousin’s baby shower… and even more excited that he is expecting a girl, because I’ve wanted to make this sweet dress ever since I bought this book, Easy Baby Knits by Claire Montgomerie. I love this book so much… I’ve made many of the items in here, but not this one yet. It was a joy to knit in Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran.

knitted baby dress

Her nursery theme has elephants in it, so of course I had to make her a crocheted baby elephant as well. This pattern was very quick and easy… relatively.

crochet baby elephant

3. About a Naughty Kitty.
From the very first moment we brought our kittens home, I knew that under NO circumstances could I ever let them play with yarn, because then it would be GAME OVER for my knitting. And they’ve actually done admirably well with leaving it alone. Every once in awhile they will bat at a strand as I’m knitting, and have even bit through it a time or two… but I always quickly break up the game, and I’ve had very little issues. However, ever since I started spinning and bringing home fiber, it’s been a different story. I’m not really sure why… I think it started when Butterfly got her paws on a roving braid… cashmere mix of course, (she has good taste) and it responded a bit like one of their cat toys, so she started dragging it around. It could also be that raw fiber is SO soft, and they are drawn to anything soft and warm like a magnet. Whatever the cause, the result is that now I can’t leave ANY fiber out EVER, or both cats (but especially Butterfly) will be tearing into it. And I mean literally TEARING. I started keeping it in ziplock bags, but they quickly figured out how to tear those open and it’s become part of the game. I then got a big tupperware box to keep it in, but Butterfly figured out how to push open the edge enough to get her claws in and pull it out. So now it has to be in the laundry room… the only room they aren’t allowed in… unless I am currently spinning it. Even then, I can’t step out of the room for even a minute or they will be all over it. So annoying!!! At least they can’t completely destroy it… usually nothing a little carding can’t fix. Here is the bandit (or should I say vandal), caught in the act:

naughty kitty

This is some lovely kid mohair. She’s almost as obsessed with it as I am! If I can keep her out of the fiber long enough to share about my latest spinning experiments, I plan to post about that next. I’ve been doing some fun things with silk… blending it and plying it with woolen spun singles of other fibers, and I’m really enjoying working with it. Worms really don’t get enough respect!

8 thoughts on “About a Doll, a Baby, and a Naughty Kitty

  1. So glad to see a post! Love the bunny and elephant. So adorable and the kitty is naughty but I am sure a joy to have around, especially for the kids! Have a great day!!!

  2. OMG! Love the bunny and elephant!! They are way too cute. I also love the kitty story. When I brought mine home 11 years ago, my yarn basket was his favorite toy. On a couple of occasions I would come home to find the entire basket wound around my one bedroom apartment. There would be a messy tangled trail of yarn from one room to another. Congrats on the new family member!

  3. Wow! You have been busy! And everything is adorable!! I’ve never been that interested in knitting little animals, but you are totally inspiring me to try it out. That bunny is absolutely sweet and cuddly. Is it made from handspun? It looks so soft!! I also love the little clothes for baby and doll. Everything is so sweet! The kitty story just proves that playing with fiber is a transpecies phenomenon! 🙂 And kitty has awfully good taste. She obviously knows what she likes!

    • Thank you so much! Knitting toys is super fun for me. They make really great gifts for my kids and nieces and nephews… something they won’t grow out of quickly, and usually relatively quick projects that don’t require much yarn… I use up a lot of stash on them. The bunny isn’t handspun, but I used some angora yarn I had in my stash… I thought that would be appropriate. 😉

Leave a Reply

