Home » knitting » new spinning territory

new spinning territory

I’ve ventured into new spinning territory on 2 recent projects. The first was a challenge to myself to spin it as finely as I could, for my weaving friend who also likes to dye her own yarn. I used superwash merino and I even spun it traditionally worsted… no predrafting… using a forward short draw drafting method. The result was about 250 yards of 2-ply yarn, somewhere between lace and fingering weight. I’m quite proud of it, but it felt like it took forever. I stretched out the process over a couple of weeks, because my fingers would get quickly tired of holding back such thin singles.

handspun fingering superwash merino yarn

As soon as I got it off the wheel, I moved right into a treat for myself that I’ve been very impatient to start spinning… some hand-painted Australian merino from Woolgatherings that my sweet Papa gave me for Christmas. He’s been reading my blog, so he knew EXACTLY what I would like. 😉 I don’t know if it’s because I was more excited about the fiber, or if it was more interesting to spin because I couldn’t wait to see how the colors turned out, or if it’s because I’m realizing that I just enjoy spinning thicker yarn more, but this took me less than two days. I decided to leave it as single-ply, another first, so that also cut the time in half, and I spun it mostly with a short backward draw. I felted it a bit on purpose during washing it, since I heard that will help give singles more strength. The result was about 210 yards of DK/Worsted weight, which I can’t wait to knit into these Crofton cuffs for myself. I like the version with the seed stitch tops, and I’m excited to see how they will stripe.

single-handspun-austalian-merino

Now, for a little small talk about the weather: We were the lucky recipients of a layer of freezing rain on top of our 5 inches of snow last night, and it’s like an ice-skating rink out there. No snow play for the kids today I’m afraid. THEY are telling us it will start to melt this afternoon, and then we’ll have constant rain in our foreseeable future… so we are getting very nervous about flooding. But at least the chickens will be happy to come out of hibernation. They’ve got to be getting stir crazy up there in their coop. But they are still laying eggs for us, so I guess they can’t be too miserable. Sweet little chooks.

frozen-snow

19 thoughts on “new spinning territory

    • Thanks so much! I’m currently trying to calculate how to make the colors come out somewhat symmetrical on the cuffs… I’d better knit a swatch first… we’ll see how it goes!

    • Yes, it does, so you have to wash it first. Also, during the first few hours of drying it, I hung a towel through the bottom of the skein to help straighten out the active twists while it dried. Once it dries straight, the twists become inactive and it stays fairly straight.

    • Thank you so much! I think I’m really liking the way the colors are knitting up… almost finished 1 cuff today… and it’s so soft and warm, I’m impatient to wear them!

  1. The white 2 ply skein looks fantastic, so fine and even. And I love the colours in the single ply merino. Looking forward to seeing the cuffs once they are done.

    • Thanks so much! I’m definitely no expert yet, but I’m having a lot of fun, and I want to try all the techniques I can, so both of these skeins were good practice. 🙂

  2. That yarn looks wonderful! I’m the same though, I’m not a fan of spinning very fine singles, I much prefer thicker ones, to make a DK weight. Can’t wait to see what you make out of these 😀

    • Thank you!!! I’m glad I’m in good company about the singles. I hear a lot of people think it’s easier to spin very finely, but I just don’t get it. Maybe it’s also my wheel, since it has such a strong take up?

  3. I’m a yarn addict! I search out yarn shops when I travel lol I crochet but did try knitting and for the life of me, I couldn’t get it. Two of my daughters knit and they’re fabulous! Thanks for the follow -:)

    • You’re welcome! Likewise! I’m the opposite with crochet, but I’m starting to learn more techniques in that department. That’s great that your daughters are learning to knit young. I wish I had. Both my kids learned at school, and that’s what inspired me to learn. 🙂

      • That’s awesome your kids are knitting! They need to teach stuff like this in school. Here’s to knitting and crocheting! -:)

Leave a Reply

