Home » spinning » peach melba australian merino

peach melba australian merino

This has been a very busy month, so I haven’t really had time to blog… and I also haven’t wanted to give up any of my spare crafting time. I have some secret Christmas projects going, but I just had to take a tiny bit of time to post about this amazing fiber from Woolgatherings that I am spinning at the moment. I am absolutely in love with the hand-painted colorway, and it’s very surprising to me, since I’m not usually an orange / yellow person, but I really find this combination deliciously mouthwatering. It reminds me of something like a peach melba, and I’m having a hard time not putting it in my mouth… I feel like a toddler! Plus, the fiber is Australian Merino, at 15.5 microns, it’s even softer than superfine merino. It feels like velvet, and I’m very glad I didn’t try dyeing it myself… I’m sure I would have felted the whole batch in a heartbeat.

woolgatherings hand-painted australian merino being handspun

Something about the colors just make my heart happy, like a gorgeous sunrise or sunset, and it’s been brightening my dark, cold, December days just to spin it! Maybe it also helps that it’s from Australia… where it is Summer now… as well as reminding me of the flower arrangements at my sister-in-law’s wedding this summer. As my mother-in-law was arranging them, and my other sister-in-law was putting the finishing touches on her bouquet, the beauty of it all almost brought tears to my eyes.

Here it is as a single.

woolgatherings hand painted hand-spun single

I had a hard time deciding whether to leave it single, try to keep the colors together when plying, or to mix up the colors as much as possible as a 2-ply. I decided on the last option… with a little help from the kids: “mix it up!” And Mae helped spin some of it, as well as a ply quite a bit of it. So here’s our Australian merino peach melba velvet tiger! What should it turn into next?

 woolgatherings hand-painted australian merino handspun 2-ply.

21 thoughts on “peach melba australian merino

    • Thank you! There’s about 110 yards of somewhere between worsted / bulky. But I do have a bit more I could spin up. Actually, I’m thinking of giving the yarn itself as a gift. 😉

  1. Oh, I love it!!! I am like you not an orange/yellow person…I tend to go with blues, but this is just like you said “happiness”! I love how you mixed it up! Excited to see what you do with it! 🙂

  2. I think it should be a warm smooshy something to wear around the neck. Although, that may just be the cold weather speaking, I feel like I haven’t been warm in weeks, and I want to wrap myself in many layers of wool 😛

    • Thanks! I’m having a lot of fun teaching her and watching her learn. Although I’m learning a lot from her, too. She’s very intuitive and fearless with her crafting, (as with practically all her ventures) and even embraces imperfections… where I tend to be too perfectionistic.

      • She’s so amazing! I love that she’s so intuitive and fearless. I wish I could say the same for myself. I’m more like you–I tend to be too perfectionistic.

        I can’t wait to see what more projects you two do together.

    • Thank you! Yup, I’ve been spinning as much as possible, and occasionally tearing myself away for knitting, a little crochet, and trying to keep my chickens from freezing… after working and being a Mom of course. 😉

  3. I bought my first roving last week from Wool Gatherings, BFL, and it was awesome! I’ll have to try the Australian merino next! 🙂

Leave a Reply

