Home » knitting » Angelic Angora

Angelic Angora

I could no longer keep myself from the angora in my luxury sample pack. The fiber itself is incredibly soft and sleek with an angelic halo. It has a longer staple length than cashmere and it spins very gracefully. But you don’t really want to bury your face in this one (unless you like breathing hair) while you are working with it. I remember breathing in a lot of the tickly, tiny hairs when I’ve knitted with it in the past as well. They are so light and fluffy, they just want to fly around like tiny angels! But once the finished piece has been washed and worn a few times, and the hairs have decided to reside peacefully in your knitted piece… bury away! One of my favorite garments I’ve ever made is an angora cowl. I basically leave it around my neck all winter long… it’s stood the test of time. It’s so soft, silky and breathable, not itchy at all, and many times warmer than wool. I wrap it around my face when I go out on a cold day for instant insulation, like a bunny burrowing under her mama rabbit. And it’s so light, I’d hardly know it is there, were it not for it’s soft, warm embrace… an angelic presence enfolding me.

Here’s my single:

angora single on a drop spindle

And 2-ply:

angora 2-ply on a drop spindle

angora 2-ply on a drop spindle

And washed & thwacked (very important for the halo to properly bloom, and to remove some of the loose hairs):

handspun angora yarn

I can’t wait to make something with it. Maybe a new cowl? Or a hat? Or mittens? The possibilities are endless, but it definitely needs to be touching my bare skin somewhere. 🙂

16 thoughts on “Angelic Angora

  1. Soooooo beautiful!!!! I have an angora blend that I have yet to start spinning, but I take it out and pet it sometimes 😛 I can’t wait to see what you make with this, it’s stunning! I hear that angora is really hard, but it doesn’t look like you had much trouble.

    • Thank you! I definitely understand the petting part, I could do that all day, but my cats would be jealous. 😉 I didn’t find it much more difficult to spin than any of the other fibers I’ve worked with so far. I wouldn’t say it was as easy as wool, but it was easier than cashmere. I hear that spinning it right off the rabbit is really fun and pretty easy too, and it doesn’t have any oils or wax that need to be washed off first, like other fibers.

  2. Looks lovely! The singles look very neat and squishy. I bet you can’t wait to start making something with it. I always thought angora was a very, very short staple so I’ve never started spinning with it. Grr, you’re making me want to try out all these luxury fibres now :p Can’t believe how neat and thick those singles are! You’re making me jealous 😀 Oooh, did you get your spinning wheel today??

    • Thank you! Sorry for tempting you with the luxury fibers… they are definitely my weakness, as knitting has always been all about the feel of it for me, so the softer the better as far as my fingers are concerned. 😉 And I love this sample pack, so I can try them all and decide which ones I want to save my pennies to buy more of. I’m picking up my spinning wheel at the post office after work. I can’t wait!!! My Sweet Prince is giving me the night off from motherly duties, so I can go straight home and play with it all evening!

  3. It’s really hard making decisions sometimes on what to make with something so beautiful. You don’t want to make the wrong decision and waste such beautiful yarn but then you want something different at the same time!

    • Thank you! I can’t wait for you to try spinning angora also, I think you will LOVE it! I just got my wheel home and set up… I’m so excited to play with it tonight! It’s SO beautiful! I will do a post w/photos of it tomorrow. Thanks for the compliment on the photos too. I love my little Nikon 1 V1 that my husband gave me. He’s a photographer and has much fancier cameras, but I’m a point and shoot girl myself, and this one is made for people like me. He also just got me a 18.5mm lens that lets me to do those macro, shallow depth of field shots. I think they really show off the softness of the fiber. I put a link to a site that talks about thwacking in my last post. Basically, it just means that after you wash and towel-dry your new yarn, you grip it by 2 ends, and hit it hard against the side of the tub several times, then switch ends and do it again. Apparently this “wakes up the bloom”. It would wake me up too! 😉 I had no idea what it was either until someone left a comment on one of my posts about it.

  4. Soooo pretty! I have several bags of angora fiber that we got right off of our Angora rabbit about 6 years ago. I put them away to save until I learned to spin. Seeing yours makes me very excited to get good enough to be able to use mine. I need to get carders first thought, I think. It is just a big mound of fluff right now. I assume I need to get it all aligned and such.
    And if all goes well I need to convince my son to add an Angora to his rabbitry, so I can have more access to it again. 🙂

    • Wow! That’s great! I’m jealous. 😉 I think you will love spinning it, and I don’t think it will take you very long to get there. I want to learn to card eventually too.

Leave a Reply

