Home » creative » Pixie’s Cousin

Pixie’s Cousin

… or I should say “Original Pixie”, since she is a blondie like Claire Garland’s original pattern, for my tow-headed niece. I was more than a little obsessed with the hair for this doll. I started with the same Drops Lima that I used on Mae’s Pixie, but in beige. However, I didn’t order enough, and I decided that I wanted to try a different yarn, something softer, but still with alpaca content. So I bought a different, alpaca/bamboo yarn at my local yarn store. It was much thinner, which I thought might be nice as well, to make the head less heavy, but it ended up looking too lacy. I tried doubling it, which worked pretty well, but then I realized I would have to buy more… yet again. I finally found this gorgeous yarn, Cascade Eco Highland Duo (70% Undyed Baby Alpaca / 30% Undyed Merino Wool) which is very soft and has a beautiful variegated undyed color to it. It’s also single-ply, which I’ve never worked with before, so that was a fun experience. I’m IN LOVE with it. It’s so incredibly soft, I just want to bury my face in it whenever I’m working with Pixie.

pixie moon new knitted doll by claire garland

I also had fun creating some of Claire Garland’s other Pixie clothes from her Bumper Pixie Wardrobe Package. The tank dress with the embroidered hearts was my absolute favorite. And it was super easy to make, so I would recommend it for any newbie knitter who wants to try making Pixie. With this Pixie’s lighter skin and hair color, and her bright turquoise eyes, she really needed a different color palette than Mae’s Pixie. So I used lot’s of pinks, greys, & blues that seemed to suit her well.

I can’t wait to give her to my niece next month!!! She seemed pretty interested in Mae’s doll at her birthday party, so I think she’ll like it. Mae’s friend Erica, on the right, is also getting a Pixie made for her by her Mom:

mae-6-bday25

For now, she’s having fun hanging out with her Pixie cousin:

pixie-cousins

Mae is having fun playing with both dolls:

mae-both-pixies1

And so is Jonah:pixies-jonah

But their favorite is still Mae’s Pixie (also because I’m not REALLY letting them play with Chloe’s): mae-pixie    pixie-jonah2

Jonah would prefer that this picture doesn’t get widespread exposure among his peers… note sure why… boys shouldn’t get guff for playing with dolls too, methinks! 😉

26 thoughts on “Pixie’s Cousin

  1. They are a lot bigger than I thought! I thought they were little hand held dolls, but they are a wonderful size! I can’t get over how awesome the hair is 😀

    • Yes, someone else commented on the size, so that’s one reason I wanted to show them with the kids. They are 18″ tall, about the size of an American Girl doll, but MUCH more huggable. 😉

  2. Oh my gosh!!! Chloe is going to be IN LOVE. You are so amazing! I fully expect this sweet doll to get lots of love and play and someday be passes down to C’s own daughter. Nice work.

  3. Pingback: May Made It – Ten more tantalising entries! | woolhogs

  4. Pingback: Sunny Clamshell Pillow (comes with a pattern) | Aviena

Leave a Reply

