Home » creative » sewing!!!

sewing!!!

Pixie’s birthday wardrobe is done!

I even did a little sewing, which I was very scared about, and had been putting off because of that. My last real sewing project was in high school home-ec when I made an apron. I learned to use a sewing machine then, although I don’t have one now, but I figured: “How hard can it be to sew these little outfits by hand?” I started with a simple skirt to go with her original outfit, and I had a bit of a rough go at first trying to sew in a straight line, but then I realized out I could draw the line first with a washable marker, and that helped a lot. It’s not perfect, but it looks like a real skirt! With real seams and hems! I’m so excited!

pixie knitted doll hand-sewn skirt image

Then, I used these patterns from Claire Garland:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/pixies-day-clothes-collection

pixie knitted doll with sundress, capri pants and mary jane shoes image

I made the sundress and the shoes from the patterns, but the capri pants are just a lengthened version of the original shorts pattern. I used Drops merino held double with a kid silk that Mae HAD to get at the yarn store because it was SO soft. It was very thin, I knew there was no way she would be able to work with it on her own, and I was right, so I took it over to work with on this project. But she was right also, it makes the pants SO much softer. And when I turned them inside out to sew in the ends, I liked the purl side a lot better. It looks a bit like “jeggings” this way. After finishing the dress and pants, I realized we had way too much purple going on, so she needed something very different for the shoes… green was the winner!

pixie knitted doll mary jane shoes image

I really wanted to make the cardigan too, and I will for my niece’s doll, but Mae refuses to wear sweaters, so in the spirit of mini-me, I made her a poncho instead, with the same yarn I used on Mae’s Christmas poncho. I LOVE how the stripes turned out so perfectly! I didn’t plan it that way, I swear, except to start with the purple, since her poncho has a purple collar.

pixie knitted doll with poncho, capri pants and mary jane shoes image

And then I made a simple flannel nightgown. I’m not sure it’s my best work, but it’ll do for now, and maybe I’ll make her something more sophisticated for Christmas (perhaps with a robe and slippers?)

pixie knitted doll with flannel pillowcase nightgown image

I recruited Jonah to try out dressing her. He had a lot of fun, and reported that he thought Mae would love her. He was also inspired to introduce Pixie and her cat to the Hobbes tiger I made for him 2 Christmases ago. It looks like they are all going to be great friends!

pixie knitted doll, cat, and hobbes tiger

12 thoughts on “sewing!!!

    • That’s very sweet, but I don’t think I could sell them. They are quite time consuming: this one and all of her clothes took 6 weeks working on it every evening and weekend and I wouldn’t know how to charge for that. Even at the cost of materials, I’m sure you could find something similar for much cheaper. Plus, and most importantly, they aren’t my patterns. But I’m happy to promote Claire’s patterns and freely give out notes on all of my modifications, experiences, etc… πŸ™‚

  1. Oh my goodness, I am quite literally GOBSMACKED at your beautiful blog!!! Your pictures, talent and content is fascinating!!

    Soooo happy to be here…thank you for following my blog, I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

