Home » chickens » pixie’s knitted heidi dress and cat

pixie’s knitted heidi dress and cat

Mae’s surprise knitted birthday doll’s wardrobe is expanding. I absolutely LOVE this pattern: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/pixies-favourite-heidi-dress-and-little-red-winter-hood

Claire Garland is a knitting genius, even if she does have quite a few small errors in her patterns, I don’t care, geniuses are like that sometimes… they can’t be bothered with the details.

And now Pixie has a friend as well… modeled after our sweet Lola cat. This pattern can be found in this book (I borrowed it from the library) : Knit and Purl Pets

The cats love her too, and the white pillow they are sitting against in the photos was made by Mae. 🙂

In chicken land (was that what this blog was supposed to be all about?) we are all loving the warmer weather and longer days. It still surprises me how much the hens enjoy sitting with us on the hammock. They really can’t stand more than a quick pet when they’re running around the yard, but on the hammock they let us pet and hug them to the contentment of all. Cleo almost fell asleep the other evening while Mae was rocking us, cuddled up against my side. I wonder why the difference? Is it perhaps because we are at eye level, instead of descending from above… like a potential predator? And maybe because it feels like we are roosting with them, fellow chickens swaying together in the branches of a tree?

9 thoughts on “pixie’s knitted heidi dress and cat

    • surprisingly, no. i keep waiting for it to happen, but their bottoms are either usually hanging over the side, or they are sitting down, therefore, no poop. not even when we are gone, and they could take it over if they wanted too. 🙂 not sure why, but they rarely ever pooped on us when we were holding them as chicks, either… even curled up on the couch on our laps for quite awhile.

    • Thanks!!! Although, I don’t really consider myself clever when using other people’s patterns. Claire Garland is the clever one. I’m just pretty good at following directions… and obsessed with knitting enough to know how. 😉

    • I know, right? If you would have asked me a year ago, I would never in my wildest dreams have imagined that I would 1. ever own chickens, 2. enjoy raising them SO much, and above all, 3. cuddle with them in a hammock! Life is full of surprises I guess. 🙂

Leave a Reply

