Home » chickens » hexipuff madness

hexipuff madness

I went a little crazy designing and embroidering hexipuffs for my Beekeeper’s Quilt this week, so I wanted to add these patterns to my growing collection. Feel free to use them and customize them as desired! First off, the bees. I couldn’t decide which pattern I liked best, and the kids had differing opinions, so I did up both of them, and put them on my yummiest looking hand-painted lavender yarn puffs. These were inspired by Laura Rittenhouse’s bee photos, so there you go Laura.. your bees have now been immortalized into my quilt!

bee hexipuff pattern

Then I had to do our chickens how they looked as chicks:

hexipuff pattern chicks

Then I did one of our cockerels, how they would have looked as full grown barred rock roosters, and added him to my chicken collection. I used thinner black yarn on top of a white background to achieve the speckled look.

hexipuff patterns chickens

Then I did the guinea pigs:

guinea pigs hexipuff

and the kids:

kids hexipuff pattern

and our chocolate lab of 11 years:

hexipuff pattern dog chocolate lab puppy

and Mae really wanted me to do her hibernating wooly bear caterpillar (at least we hope it’s hibernating).

catepillar

So here are all of the hexipuffs I’ve embroidered so far:

all-embroidered

And when I tie them all together I’ll probably scatter them around like this. I’m up to 63 hexipuffs now!

beekeeper quilt hexipuffs

Here are the embroidery charts for anyone interested. Notes: I added my ideal Cleo chick pattern, with an additional medium brown shade, which I didn’t have at the time. And the larger bee should be embroidered with the hexipuff upside down if you want it to come out centered:

8 thoughts on “hexipuff madness

  1. Hooray for my bees!!!!!!!!!

    I love all of the patterns – okay, maybe not the caterpillar. Of course I’m a fan of chickens and bees (your cockerel is gorgeous) but I’ve never had nor been particularly attracted to guinea pigs until today – you make them look so cute and not like furry rats at all!

  2. Wow! Those are really awesome! It kind of reminds me of a quilt I am working on that was started by my great-grandmother and uses the English Paper Piecing method with hexagons.

Leave a Reply

