Home » chickens » Sorry, Cleo, becoming a mother hen is not your destiny.

Sorry, Cleo, becoming a mother hen is not your destiny.

I guess the oyster shells made an acceptable peace offering, because this morning there was an egg! I had some time to let them roam the yard before work this morning, and Gloria was downstairs and eager to come out, but Cleo was still upstairs, so I opened the nesting box door, and there she was crouching over her egg. Not sitting on it, just crouching over it… is that odd? She didn’t seem to want to leave it, and she kept looking down at it, so I was worried she was going to get broody about it. I closed the door to give her some time to come down on her own, but still no sign of her after a few minutes, so I opened the door again, and she was still crouching. I thought I would try to entice her down with more oyster shells, since they finished them all last night, but as I started to walk away and retrieve them, she hopped down to follow me. They’ve both taken to following me around the yard when I’m out there, either for safety or hoping for treats, I’m not sure. Probably the latter. Then she seemed content to forage around the yard as usual, and didn’t put up a fuss when I took the egg, so PHEW! Not broody after all. It was a beauty of an egg, too, much bigger than the last few days. We’ve been saving them to check the progress on size. Here they are, the farthest right is from this morning:

2 thoughts on “Sorry, Cleo, becoming a mother hen is not your destiny.

Leave a Reply

