Home » chickens » cheep, cluck, cock-a-doodle-doo – 5 weeks old

cheep, cluck, cock-a-doodle-doo – 5 weeks old

The chicks are almost too big to be called chicks anymore. Time to start calling them chickens, I guess. On Sunday they got to spend most of the afternoon outside, and had a really great time learning to forage for themselves a bit. They wandered around the yard for a while, but once they found their way into the coop, they just wanted to stay in there. I guess it felt safer, plus there is shade in there. I imagine it’s pretty jarring to be under so much sunlight after spending most of your life under an infrared light in the basement.

Thanks to my Mom, I think we’ve figured out why Toothpick has been biting so much. She was wondering if it was in protection for the others, since he is the biggest male, and sure enough, right after she said that, I put my hand in to pet Gloria and he came over and bit it. Still not really hard, but not comfortable either.

They are definitely clucking now, and we’re hearing a few little crows from the boys as well. Here’s a video mash up from this week:

I thought I was all done blogging today, but then Penguin really started crowing, so I had to capture that as well:

Also, just for fun, the kids have been really into the new Muppet Movie, and this song is one of their favorites from the soundtrack. I think they are hoping their chickens will do this one day. I just played it for the chicks, and they were quite enthralled as well:

Leave a Reply

